Watermelon Nights

Watermelon Nights

A Novel

Book - 1998
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A Native American saga that spans generations chronicles the deep connections among members of Johnny Severe's family, as his mother's and grandmother's pasts retain a fascinating hold over his present

Blackwell North Amer
In the tradition of Louise Erdrich and Sherman Alexie, a multi-generational epic novel about the love and forgiveness that keep an American Indian family together.
Told from the points of view of Johnny Severe, his grandmother, Elba, and his mother, Iris, Watermelon Nights reaches to the past and toward the future to uncover the secrets behind each of these characters' extraordinary powers of perception. When twenty-year-old Johnny contemplates leaving his grandmother's house for the big city, he discovers there's more than his floundering used-clothing store keeping him where he is. As the novel shifts perspectives, tracing the history of the tribe, we learn how the tragic events of Elba's childhood, as well as Iris's attempts to separate herself from her cultural roots, make Johnny's dilemma all the more difficult, and his choices more crucial.

Baker
& Taylor

A Native American saga that spans generations chronicles the deep connections among members of Johnny Severe's family, as his mother's and grandmother's pasts retain a fascinating hold over his present. A first novel. 20,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Hyperion, c1998
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780786861101
078686110X
Characteristics: 425 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top