The Book of Fires

The Book of Fires

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
Reminiscent of Year of Wonders, a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman's redemption

It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen.

Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any the Brontës conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes's secret will not stay secret forever.

Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes's perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.



Baker & Taylor
Taking a job as a fireworks maker's apprentice after arriving in mid-18th-century London, pregnant 17-year-old Agnes slowly gains the trust of her brooding employer and joins his quest to make the world's most spectacular fireworks.

Baker
& Taylor

Taking a job as a fireworks maker's apprentice after arriving in mid-eighteenth-century London, pregnant seventeen-year-old Agnes slowly gains the trust of her brooding employer and joins his quest to make the world's most spectacular fireworks.

Publisher: New York : Viking, 2010
Edition: 1st American ed
ISBN: 9780670021062
0670021067
Characteristics: 360 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
happycanuck
Apr 14, 2013

Unusual plot. Well written. A good solid read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top