You're Old, I'm Old-- Get Used to It!

You're Old, I'm Old-- Get Used to It!

20 Reasons Why Growing Old Is Great

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Penguin Putnam


Wry essays about the advantages and indulgences of aging.

No matter what they say, sixty will never be the new forty. But sixty- five-year-old British writer Virginia Ironside is determined to convince people that getting old is not so bad-even for a Baby Boomer who interviewed the Rolling Stones and Jimi Hendrix early in her career. In her first nonfiction book published in the United States, Ironside explores the many unsung benefits of aging. There are ailments, but there are also fabulous meds. There are grandchildren- your reward for not killing your children. And then there's "wisdom," the random accumulated knowledge you can label as such precisely because you are old. You're Old, I'm Old . . . Get Used to It! celebrates scattered memory, frequent naps, and mercifully lowered expectations.

Ironside, an "agony aunt" with a plainspoken wit, is a convincing spokesperson for the advanced years. The book's easy-to-browse format, clever line drawings, and self-deprecating charm make this a fantastic read for fans of Judith Viorst, Nora Ephron, and anyone who can appreciate the humor in longevity.



Baker & Taylor
A collection of whimsically jaded essays on the advantages and indulgences of aging celebrates such topics as grandchildren, mercifully lowered expectations and medical advances in the face of inevitable health challenges.

Baker
& Taylor

A collection of whimsically jaded essays on the advantages and indulgences of aging celebrates such topics as grandchildren, mercifully lowered expectations, and medical advances in the face of inevitable health challenges.

Publisher: New York : Viking, 2010
Edition: 1st American ed
ISBN: 9780670022229
0670022225
Characteristics: 215 p. : ill. ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Dorrance

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLDianeH Dec 22, 2016

A refreshing and humorous read for a youth-obsessed culture.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top