Beach House for Rent

Beach House for Rent

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
When Cara Rutledge rents out her quaint beach house on Isle of Palms to Heather Wyatt for the entire summer, it's a win-win by any standard: Cara's generating income necessary to keep husband Brett's ecotourism boat business afloat, and anxiety-prone Heather, an young artist who's been given a commission to paint birds on postage stamps, has a quiet space in which to work and tend to her pet canaries uninterrupted. It isn't long, however, before both women's idyllic summers are altered irrevocably: the alluring shorebirds -- and the man who rescues them -- begin to draw Heather out of the shell she's cultivated toward a world of adventure, and maybe even love; at the same time, Cara's life reels with sudden tragedy, and she wishes only to return to the beach house that had once been her port amidst life's storms. When Heather refuses to budge from her newfound sanctuary, so begins the unlikeliest of rooming situations. While they start out as strangers, as everything around the women falls apart they learn that the only thing they can really rely on is each other.
Publisher: Waterville, Maine :, Thorndike Press,, 2017
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781432840693
143284069X
Characteristics: large print,rda
549 pages (large print) : illustrations ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
twhitehead24
Dec 06, 2017

I loved reading this summertime book which included fear, finding oneself, love, tragedy, and moving on. Cara has a beach home that belonged to her mother and was passed down to her which she rents out. This summer she is renting the house to Heather, who has social anxiety after the death of her mother in a tragic car accident. This book is about both women finding their true selves after facing adversity. It is about love and facing fears. A great read!

2
22METZ
Nov 24, 2017

An ok book. More for bird lovers and those who like romance stories.

a
AnneCarolineDrake
Nov 04, 2017

Disappointing sequel to The Beach House.

1
1_Great_Book
Sep 28, 2017

I have been picking up this author's works as they come out, and I am not disappointed.
The character Heather Wyatt is very well developed; that of Cara Rutledge, owner of the said beach house, skips and she is left more in the background, making occasional appearances. That said, I had a very satisfying tour to the lowcountry once again. The themes of agoraphobia and grief and battling against them are well done.

p
pp47
Aug 01, 2017

As always a great read one of the best books I have read this yr, hope for a sequel, possibly with Cara. Such beautiful writing style with her love of animals and the sea, postage stamps was such an original theme, I never realized they were done by artists

c
caj1222204441801
Jul 19, 2017

This author does not disappoint. Her character are so real and entertaining. I have read all of her books and absolutely highly recommend.

s
SaturdayLibrarian
Jun 28, 2017

Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Karen White, will delight in Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe. A finely crafted story of love, fear, friendship and the courage to begin again. A great summer read!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top