The Trials of Morrigan Crow

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
3
"A cursed child destined to die on her eleventh birthday is rescued and whisked away to a secret realm called Nevermoor and given the chance to compete for a place in a prestigious organization called the Wundrous Society"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Little, Brown and Company,, 2017
Edition: First US edition
ISBN: 9780316508889
0316508888
Characteristics: xiii, 465 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Madsen, Jim 1964-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
stephaniejoanna
Aug 02, 2018

Nevermoor was an absolutely, positively delightful read! I picked this up because it keeps getting compared to Harry Potter - while I'm not a "Potterhead" myself, the comparison piqued my interest. I'm so glad I gave this book a chance because it did not disappoint! Whimsical writing, wonderful characters, engaging plot .. a perfect read for all ages. If you're in the mood to read something that will sweep you away to a magical, enchanting place and give you a break from the real world, look no further.

cmlibrary_rkimray Jul 17, 2018

I totally agree with the comparisons to Harry Potter, The Mysterious Benedict Society and works by Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones. The story is engaging and funny, and the characters are crafted with great care. The action, adventure and magic are all unique, but with distinct nods to many classic children's novels. One of my favorite books of the year and a promising start to a new series!

g
green_pig_629
Jun 30, 2018

*SPOILERS*
It was fairly reminiscent of Diana Wynne Jones, and I really liked the entire idea, I mean it was a fun book, really; a girl, who everyone blames everything on, (I really liked the part where she wrote scathing things to all the people who blamed her,) escapes her untimely death hoping for a future with a strange king of all gingers driving a giant spider. Then she has to pass some tests to stay in because it turns out that she's an 'illegal' etc.

Anyway I really, really wanted to like this book.
I loved Townsends quirky world. I loved the whimsical flourishes that she so lavishly decorates it with. I loved the hotel Deculion. I loved the Brolly Rail, and the smoking room. I really enjoyed this world.

Sorry guys, now comes what I didn't like.

Morrigan. She never asked the right questions, for example; 'why does he wear an eyepatch?' Instead of 'it's rude to stare at people like they're freaks'. And everyone thought that she was pretty smart, but she couldn't figure out that she was a wondersmith. The author never offered any clues, so that we, the readers, could figure out anything, but Morrigan didn't care, she was perfectly patient to wait around for everything to be delivered to her in a perfectly wrapped parcel. And it really felt like you got a snails view of the world. Instead of trying to figure ANYTHING out, Morrigan goes on and on about the lovely hotel, and people, and other things that aren't important to the plot, at all.

I suppose that's why I was so annoyed at her. She's so patient, I don't think I've ever met a real live eleven year old who would gladly, wait everything out, whose curiosity never got the better of her.

Yeesh, I didn't realize how many problems I had with this.

If I were in her shoes, I would have gotten myself a knack, I would learn magic tricks, or how to talk to gorillas, or I would have memorized fifty million different languages. I would have done anything to make sure that I would NOT DIE. I would most definately NOT leave it all up to the man that I'd just barely met, I mean seriously? Would you?

But, probably, the worst part is that she doesn't even DEAFEAT the villian, I mean, come on? Can't you do something? You have all these awesome magical powers, but all you can really do is run away? Seriously?

And Jack, as soon as they meet each other they start a very long fued, honestly, trading hats is not goint to end that, most definitely not.

Forgive the rant, I am training to become a critic apparently.

katbee Jun 15, 2018

Wow, this book is great! When started reading it, the random elements of the fantasy world reminded me of Diana Wynne Jones' writing. This book has all the awesome story elements that were successful with Harry Potter: a wonderful fantasy world, a special kid, mystery, adventure, the ultimate bad guy, cool sidekicks and humor. I can't wait to read more books about these characters.

b
BB_Hclib
Jun 07, 2018

An exciting first installment in children's fantasy. Middle grade and up. If you liked Harry Potter you're sure to like Morrigan Crow.

b
becker
May 31, 2018

If you have read the whole Harry Potter series three times over because you can't find anything else like it, I would suggest this book. It was a good read and you can tell the author was heavily influenced by Harry Potter. If you enjoy audio books, I would listen to this one. The audio was really well done, bringing the characters totally to life. Also this is the first of a series so there is more to come. Good choice for a family road trip this summer.

YLPLchildrens Apr 23, 2018

Enter the realm of Nevermoor where anything is possible! You will meet a talking cat so large you can ride it, explore a hotel that will change depending on the needs of the guests, jump from buildings with umbrellas and befriend a dragon rider. Told with vivid imagery, this book is packed full of action and adventure which will leave you full of wonder and wanting more. What a fun read.

l
lydia1879
Apr 22, 2018

This was such a fun romp!

It felt very much in the style of Neil Gaiman -- a young, dark, begrudging heroine who has no friends, until she does and goes on a completely mad adventure.

I loved the spectacle of this. It's clear the author has done a lot of world-building and established a fantastical place that has such a pull to it. I loved the names, they were so evocative and playful and overall just felt like this was a really accomplished piece.

I will say that I sometimes found Morrigan's fish-out-of-water status a little irritating. It was so repetitive and she had so many questions all the time I wish the author could've taken a different route. And yet I'm not upset by it because I feel like children who would be reading this would have the same questions as Morrigan, so...

A cracking good adventure tale with excellent pace, lovely characters and thoughtful details. Only wish lil baby me could read this!

b
bookkaren
Mar 31, 2018

Loved this book! We could not put it down and couldn't wait to see what was happening next. Strong female character with an awesome ensemble of supporting characters. Can not wait for the more of Morragin Crow.

ArapahoeJessica Mar 23, 2018

Normally I'm skeptical when a book proclaims it's perfect for fans of Harry Potter, but in this case, I have to agree! Morrigan Crow's world is totally immersive and absolutely impossible to tear your eyes away from. I can't wait for the sequel- so many mysteries and adventures still await!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
black_swallow_8
Aug 28, 2018

black_swallow_8 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

a
AstroChemistry
May 13, 2018

AstroChemistry thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

g
gjrainey
Feb 12, 2018

gjrainey thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top